If I Think you’re an Idiot – You’re an Idiot

Fairly early on in my career I had a “moment”. I was seen by my company at the time as a high potential, an emerging leader. The problem was that I was a high-end type A personality with a get it done come hell or high water attitude. Great right! The problem is that if you behave this way no matter how good your intentions are you are perceived by others as an egotistical all about me ass****.  As they say perception is reality.

I was sent to a great workshop called the Looking Glass that allowed me to see myself through the eyes of others. I was not a pretty sight, efficient maybe but butt ugly.  It was time to make a change.

Being aware that others feel this way about you, is the key to turning things around. No I do not mean you need to stop getting things done but do try to engage and tell others why you behave this way. Making some time to do this is well worth the effort and engagement you will get from others on the key projects and activities you care about.

Tell others, specifically peers and your teams why it’s so important to you to get these various projects and activities done.  Be truthful and you will be surprised how many of your enemies will become your allies.  Sure, you will still have some back stabbers gunning for you but in the end they really don’t matter if the majority of your peers are on your side.

Seems simple but this advice can make or break your career. Take heed.

About attackdefenddisrupt

An executive with over 20 years providing recruiting, talent management and IT solutions to corporations and government.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

